Lawan Announces Fresh Appointments For Senators As He Rejigs Senate Committees

Senate President Ahmad Lawan has announced some fresh appointments for lawmakers chosen to head various Senate Committees.

The appointments were announced on Tuesday during plenary as the upper chamber of the National Assembly resumes from its recess.

The immediate past Senate Leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi (PDP Kebbi North) was named the new Chairman of the Senate Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development; a position which became vacant following the election of Senator Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa West) as the National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in March.

Also, Senator Smart Adeyemi (APC – Kogi West) who was the chairman Senate Committee on Aviation prior to his new appointment, is now the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Senator Biodun Olujimi (PDP – Ekiti South), who headed the Senate Committee on Diaspora and Inter-Governmental Affairs, has now been deployed to chair the Senate Committee on Aviation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Making AfCTA more impactful – Tribune Online

‘Presidential race not a regional matter, no way for South-East,’ Kalu downplays Peter Obi’s 2023 chances